Saturday, April 19, 2014

Book Haul, or the One With Maleficent and the New Releases



I was too lazy to do a vlog this week, but I've been spending my birthday money like a crazy person, so I've got tons of gorgeous books to show off! I've had Maleficent guard them just in case. No one steals my birthday books.


Ask Again Later by Liz Czukas
I loooooved this book so much that I just had to convert my e-galley into an actual hard copy. Plus I love the sort of lilac color of the cover. And now I get to hug it in real life.

How Zoe Made Her Dreams (Mostly) Come True by Sarah Strohmeyer
I found this on sale, and while I haven't read any Strohmeyer books, I have a feeling this book will be the perfect kind of fluff for me. It's set in a fairytale theme park! Maleficent approves.

For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund
I also looooooved this book. I read it as a Kindle copy, and I've been dying for ages to have a pretty finished copy to match my ARC of the companion, Across a Star-Swept Sea. I just really like owning full series if I can in the same format.

To All the Boys I've Loved Before by Jenny Han
The cover. That cover. I just had to. And I'm glad I did, because I ended up really enjoying this one!

Far From You by Tess Sharpe
I still regret not getting this when I had the chance oh so many months ago, but NOW I HAVES IT. I've heard nothing but the best things about this book from a lot of trusted blogger friends.

Into the Still Blue by Veronica Rossi
NOW I OWN THE FULL SERIES YESSSS. This is another one I read as an e-galley but NEEDED as a hardcover. And omg. I can't even tell you how ridiculously gorgeous this thing is in person.

The DUFF by Kody Keplinger
Another Kindle-to-hardcover transition. I adore this book, and I needed to be able to stroke it lovingly.

And now for some cone-headed Ginger dog! She does not like the cone of shame.



Friday, April 18, 2014

Review: To All the Boys I've Loved Before by Jenny Han


Review: To All the Boys I've Loved Before by Jenny Han
Goodreads 
Release date: April 15th, 2014
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Series: Yes, #1 in the To All the Boys I've Loved Before duologoy
Source: Purchased
Length: 360 pages
Rating: A two-sitting, one evening read! Sisters, first love, second love, and lots of cuteness.

18051352

Lara Jean's love life goes from imaginary to out of control in this heartfelt novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Summer I Turned Pretty series.

What if all the crushes you ever had found out how you felt about them... all at once?

Lara Jean Song keeps her love letters in a hatbox her mother gave her. They aren't love letters that anyone else wrote for her; these are ones she's written. One for every boy she's ever loved—five in all. When she writes, she pours out her heart and soul and says all the things she would never say in real life, because her letters are for her eyes only. Until the day her secret letters are mailed, and suddenly, Lara Jean's love life goes from imaginary to out of control.



This was my first Jenny Han book, and I have to say, I really adored it. It wasn't at all what I was expecting. In fact, I'd say the synopsis is quite misleading. It's less about her secret crushes becoming un-secret and more about her fake dating one of her past crushes, which is, yes, caused by the letter sending. But mostly this book is about sisterhood, what love really is, and Lara Jean's really awesome wardrobe, personality, and baking skills.

Thursday, April 17, 2014

Literary PSA: The Immortals by Tamora Pierce

 Long ago I decided to start a NEW THING: Literary Public Service Announcements. Essentially, I'm going to pimp a book that I read before I started blogging, but that I want to foist upon the world due to its high levels of sheer awesomeness for the good of the public and all that jazz. Instead of me just telling people over and over that they should read something "JUST BECAUSE!!!1!", I've decided to actually explain in a more eloquent fashion just why my favorite books are my favorites.

Last time on Literary Public Service Announcements: Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen

And now this week's PSA:

Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Review: The Forbidden Library by Django Wexler


Review: The Forbidden Library by Django Wexler
Goodreads 
Release date: April 15th, 2014
Publisher: Kathy Dawson (Penguin)
Series: #1 in the Forbidden Library series
Source: Publisher
Length: 373 pages
Rating: A charming and inventive middle grade fantasy.

17987501

The Forbidden Library kicks off a brand new classic fantasy series perfect for fans of Coraline, Inkheart, and The Books of Elsewhere

Alice always thought fairy tales had happy endings. That--along with everything else--changed the day she met her first fairy

When Alice's father goes down in a shipwreck, she is sent to live with her uncle Geryon--an uncle she's never heard of and knows nothing about. He lives in an enormous manor with a massive library that is off-limits to Alice. But then she meets a talking cat. And even for a rule-follower, when a talking cat sneaks you into a forbidden library and introduces you to an arrogant boy who dares you to open a book, it's hard to resist. Especially if you're a reader to begin with. Soon Alice finds herself INSIDE the book, and the only way out is to defeat the creature imprisoned within.

It seems her uncle is more than he says he is. But then so is Alice.


So, I enjoyed that far more than I ever expected to. Not that I expected to dislike it, since the concept is so totally up my alley. It's about the magic and transportative abilities of books, but also the danger and the power. I adore the idea of Readers, powerful and power-hungry humans with the ability to step into books and conquer and corrall the creatures within. I love the idea of a vast, basically endless library full of magic and books and magic nbooks. I love books about books! And this book is, like, a book that's about books that's about books that have other books in them. It's a gigantic love letter/book to books. Which is hard to resist, honestly.



Tuesday, April 15, 2014

Top Ten Bookish Things (That Aren't Books) That I'd Like To Own

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish
I LOOOOOVE bookish accessories, so much so that I was completely incapable of sticking to anywhere near ten. While the number one thing I need is BOOKSHELVES (I don't currently have any and instead have a very precious wall of three foot high stacks, and it's getting a bit desperate), here's a handful of the bookish things I'd dearly love to own.

Monday, April 14, 2014

Baking the Books: Percy Jackson Cupcakes

Welcome to Baking the Books, where I bake things inspired by my favorite novels! Since I do a lot of reading and a lot of baking, it was only a matter of time before the two things overlapped. It's just part of my evil plot to get books involved in every single aspect of my life.

Last time on Baking the Books: Defiance by C.J. Redwine Sticky Buns

It's been a while since I Baked any Books, mostly because I haven't had any time or any really good ideas. But then I binge-read the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan, and to say I became somewhat obsessed would be an understatement. I haven't read that many words all in a row in a looooong time. Anyway, one of my favorite elements of the series is Percy's relationship with his mom. And one of the things that most shows off their bond is their insistence that there is such a thing as blue food, and the fact that they go out of their way to eat it.

So I made Percy some blue cupcakes!


Review: The Guard by Kiera Cass


Review: The Guard by Kiera Cass
Goodreads 
Release date: February 4th, 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
Series: #2.5 in The Selection series
Source: Library
Length: 64 pages
Rating: No, seriously, why do I hate myself?

18170039

Before America Singer met Prince Maxon . . .
Before she entered the Selection . . .
She was in love with a boy named Aspen Leger.

Don't miss this digital original novella set in the captivating world of Kiera Cass's #1 New York Times bestselling Selection trilogy. This brand new 64-page story begins just after the group of Selected girls is narrowed down to the Elite and is told from Aspen's point of view. The Guard also features a teaser to The One, the thrilling conclusion to The Selection trilogy.


My reviews of  | The Selection | The Prince | The Elite |

Full disclosure: I went into this novella fully expecting to hate it. And... SURPRISE! I hated it! It's nice when the universe makes sense.

Sunday, April 13, 2014

#RBWL: Reader Blogger Wishlist Take Three!


RBWL copy

It's back! #RBWL is back! For those of you who have no idea what I'm talking about, #RBWL is a Twitter hashtag my friend Shae at Shae Has Left the Room came up with last year. There's a very popular hashtag that literary agents and publishing peeps use called #MSWL, or manuscript wishlist, in which they tweet the things they'd like to see in manuscripts, or like the dream stories they'd like to receive.

Shae spun off of that and created a wishlist for readers and bloggers--hence, #RBWL. It was a huge success, not only one, but twice. So Shae is bringing it back, and I'm helping out, because I like making demands of the bookish universe every now and then.

Tomorrow, at 12 pm Eastern Time, 9 am Pacific Time, we'll begin tweeting about things we'd like to see in books under the hashtag #RBWL. We'll be discussing storylines, plots, concepts, and anything else you can think of.



If you want to see some examples, check out my wrap-up of the first #RBWL.

Please make sure to also check out Shae's post, where she goes into detail about the kind of tweets we don't want to see. Basically, don't spam the hashtag with your book. DO make recommendations to a specific tweeter if you have one that fits their wishlist! Suppose someone wants... um... a lesbian pirate story set in the future. (Oh my god, I want that.) And you're like, "Holy crap! I know a book like that! Hey, person who just tweeted that, have you ever read Lesbian Pirate Story? It totally fits your #RBWL!"

This hashtag is tonssss of fun, and you should definitely join us on Twitter tomorrow at 12 pm ET/ 9 am. I'll be tweeting up a storm, coffee in hand. If you want more examples of tweets, check out the RBWL tumblr!

https://quizzicalllama.files.wordpress.com/2013/08/tumblr_mnsoxpkdlg1r0tytoo1_500.gif