Friday, June 24, 2016

Reasons to Read: Summers at Castle Auburn by Sharon Shinn


Summers at Castle Auburn by Sharon Shinn
Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and Noble | The Book Depository
Series: No
Release date: April 1st, 2001
Publisher: Ace
Length: 342 pages
Source: purchased
Rating: *dreamy, contented sigh*



As a child, Coriel Halsing spent many glorious summers at Castle Auburn with her half-sister--and fell in love with a handsome prince who could never be hers. But now that she is a young woman, she begins to see the dark side of this magical place...

Clearly, back in the day, the magical elves who wrote blurb-y synopsis type things were a lot more spare and didn't know to include all the delicious bits that will and should entice you to read the sumptuous, magical Summers at Castle Auburn.

Things like: a bright, sparkling, incorrigible heroine who spreads life wherever she goes (oh, and is a healer/herb witch). Things like: a fantastic, steadfast, and sweet sisterly relationship. Things like: princes and plots and courtly intrigue. Things like: a slow burn ship of adorableness and dreams. Things like: an engaging and full fantasy novel that's really, actually all about growing up, learning the truth, and becoming your own person. Things like: this book made me happy on a soul-deep level.

If you can't tell, I LOVE. LOVE. LOVE THIS BOOK.

Friday, June 17, 2016

How to be a Real (Awesome) Book Blogger



It seems like everyone these days has opinions about the right way to be a book blogger. Well, all those people are wrong. WRONG. Only I know what it takes to be a real book blogger. Step into my office, children. Follow old Rafiki, he know the way.

The DEFINITIVE (TM Buzzfeed) List of Things You MUST DO to Be a Book Blogger

(which clearly don't include being able to spell "blogger" because that is the third time I have typed "blooger")

(petition to rename it "blooger")

Tuesday, June 14, 2016

Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases of the Second Half of the Year


Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Okay, so clearly I cheated just a little bit. Just a teeny tiny bit. Just by like...400%. BUT IT'S FINE. 2016 is a hell of a year. I've included the bits from the official book blurbs that peaked my interest or at least caused my eyes to pop out and my paws to go up and my tongue to wag like an eager puppy who's just been teased with the most delicious treat.

Thursday, June 9, 2016

The Good, the Bad, and the DNF




Mini review time, because I'm laaaazyyyyy and, well, I have barely been reading lately (slumps, they are the WORST), so let's catch up on some of the books this year I forgot to review.

Tuesday, June 7, 2016

Top Ten Reasons I Love High Fantasy

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

HELLO, my name is Blogger Gillian, and I would like to share with you the most amazing book genre



High faaaantasyyyyyyy! The genre of dreams, the best of the best, the queen of the bookstore (at least, in my opinion). Here's why, to me, fiction set in lands so faraway they don't actually exist will always be the best kind.

Friday, June 3, 2016

Review and Giveaway: The Long Game by Jennifer Lynn Barnes


The Long Game by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and Noble The Book Depository
Series: #2 in the The Fixer series
Release date: June 7th, 2016
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Length: 368 pages
Source: ARC from the publisher
Rating:  *sucker punch gasp* *PROLONGED SOBSCREAM*



Tess Kendrick, teen fixer extraordinaire, returns in a pulse-pounding thriller about a deadly conspiracy at the heart of Washington.

For Tess Kendrick, a junior at the elite Hardwicke School in Washington D.C., fixing runs in the family. But Tess has another legacy, too, one that involves power and the making of political dynasties. When Tess is asked to run a classmate's campaign for student council, she agrees. But when the candidates are children of politicians, even a high school election can involve life-shattering secrets.

Meanwhile, Tess's guardian has also taken on an impossible case, as a terrorist attack calls into doubt who can--and cannot--be trusted on Capitol Hill. Tess knows better than most that power is currency in D.C., but she's about to discover first-hand that power always comes with a price.

Perfect for fans of Harlan Coben and Ally Carter, the second book in this thrilling series will leave readers breathless.


Fun bonus: today's visual entertainment will be provided by screenshots of my reading liveblog to Lizzy and Shae, aka the evil people who told me to read this book and then laughed at me while I sobbed over it. Spoilers redacted.



Ho. Ly. Shit.

Tuesday, May 31, 2016

Top Ten Books I Plan to Read on the Beach


hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

HEY GUYS! Long time no blog! I took a nice hiatus so I could catch up on real life stuff (like omg I think I might have found a place to live??? STAY TUNED) and recharge, blogging-wise, and now I'm raring to go and bursting with words and all that jazz.

And since it's summer (AHHH SUMMER I LOVE SUMMER!) and I live in Los Angeles and the beach is like right there, I'm totally planning to go as often as I can. Here are the books on my summer TBR that I'm planning to take with me and that will be best enjoyed while sipping a cool beverage on a hot beach listening to the crash of the waves.



Tuesday, May 10, 2016

BEA-Yootiful: 2016



Hey bloggy peeps! It's been a bit since I last blogged, but I had a good reason: I was on vacation in New York, seeing the sights and eating the food and seeing the Hamilton and hanging with friends. Alas, this post is not me returning triumphantly to the bloggy stage and getting back to that blogging business, but to tell you I'm once again going on vacation. But this time, it's BEA.

*trumpets sound*

BOOK EXPO AMERICA, the Comic Con of books, the Big Kahuna, the greatest of all bookish events, and my favorite time of the year! It's like my Twitter feed come to life, and there's no greater experience than that.