Tuesday, April 29, 2014

Top Ten Books If You Like Frozen

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish
 Like you're surprised. I really, really love Frozen, okay? I love the sisterhood, the singing, the animation, the Olaf, the Kristoff, the Sven, and Letting It Goooooooooo at the top of my lungs. I don't love the trolls, to be honest, but that is another debate for another day. Today, we are explaining why reindeer aren't better than books, how love is an open book, and that I want to stuff some chocolate in my face.

Elsa? Do you want to build a book list?


1. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo
Girl who has spent a lifetime suppressing magical powers learns to LET THEM GO. Also there is snow everywhere.


2. The Two Princesses of Bamarre by Gail Carson Levine
Two royal sisters who love each other more than anything, and one is shy and afraid while the the other is outgoing. When the life of one of the sisters becomes imperiled, the other sets out on a perilous quest to save her.


3. Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce
More sisters!It's darker and certainly more violent than Frozen, but still. Fairy tale sisters.


4. Princess Academy by Shannon Hale
Princesses! Set in a snowy place! People mining stone just like Kristoff mines ice!


5. Princess of the Midnight Ball by Jessica Day George
Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow is the more obvious George pick but a) I haven't read that and b) this still fits very well. Sisters! Magic! Curses! True love! Fairy tale retelling!


6. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
Lady power! A palace! Two boys! And in the sequel there is HIDDEN POWERS INSIDE PEOPLE THAT THEY MUST SUPPRESS. Plus, "a heart of ice". It says so right there in the tagline. Plus Elsa and Celaena have so many commonalities.


7. Poison by Bridget Zinn
Feel good fantasy, strong female friendship, adorable animal sidekick, super adorable ship.


8. Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge
Definitely darker and more complex than Frozen, but there's a strong sister dynamic, a tricksy false love interest, and fairy tale redux-ing.


 9. Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood 
Sisters again! Magic-doing sisters.


10. Of Beast and Beauty by Stacey Jay
Another fairy tale redux wherein the first boy might not be the right boy, and what you think of as monstrous or dangerous might not actually be.


11. Seraphina by Rachel Hartman
Let it go! Embrace your inner awesome! Seraphina needs to stop concealing and not feeling and putting on a show.

24 comments:

  1. I love how you did your designs for this one - cute! I finally watched Frozen for the first time just a couple of weeks ago, and it IS adorable. I'm glad you recommended Of Beast and Beauty, as I don't think that book gets talked about enough. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Great list! I haven't watched Frozen yet but a number of these books are on my want-to-read list. Great explanation on how they would appeal to fans of the movie :)

    My TTT

    ReplyDelete
  3. You are pretty much adorable. I love this post! :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. Hahaha this is a great post! I love Frozen! I'm surprised that you read so many books starring sisters

    ReplyDelete
  5. I want to read so many of these books! I absolutely adore how you've set out this post. It looks GREAT.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Please would you STAHP with these graphics that can't be beat? PLEASE. (but no don't I love it you're amazing this is perfect)

    ReplyDelete
  7. ALL OF THIS is AMAZING! Frozen and this list for the win!
    My TTT

    ReplyDelete
  8. Yaaaaaasssssssssssssssss to Shadow and Bone! LET IT GOOOOO. I really want to get to Seraphina soon. I bought it for my birthday and it's still sitting on my shelf. Along with two hundred other books but still. DRAGONS.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Oh gosh! Firstly I LOVE how Elsa's holding all the books...omg pure genius! LOVE IT! And I was actually tossing up doing a Frozen rec, but then decided against it, lol. Glad I did because you've done it SO much better! XD I definitely agree with the Sisters Red and Throne of Glass. Great recs! My TTT!

    ReplyDelete
  10. First and foremost, I love your formatting in this post. Having Elsa holding the book? So creative!
    I love Frozen, and you have some of my favorites (Two Princesses, Midnight Ball, Princess Academy) on this list, so, yay! I'll definitely have to look into some of the others. I keep hearing about Throne of Glass from various places, and Poison and Seraphina both sound super cool too.

    ReplyDelete
  11. This is awesome! Since I have both 9 year old and 2 year old girls, Frozen is pretty much watched daily at my house. I just bought Shadow and Bone the other day so I am super excited to read it! I also have Sisters Red, Throne of Glass and Born Wicked all unread on my shelf! Great stuff to look forward to I guess!

    ReplyDelete
  12. I love all your graphics, and the topic is fantastic! I definitely agree about Throne of Glass and Shadow and Bone - they're perfect fits with Frozen. I haven't read any of the other books, but I know my sister has read Levine and Hale's books, and loved them.

    ReplyDelete
  13. I just recently watched Frozen as well and these topics all fit! A lot of these I haven't read yet, but if they're anything like Frozen, I know I need to finally get to them! Great picks!

    Here's My TTT

    ReplyDelete
  14. I love this format! And your list is amazing. I need to read Princess of the Midnight Ball by Jessica Day George ASAP!

    ReplyDelete
  15. I love that Frozen is your TTT! I haven't read any of the books on your list besides Princess Academy, but I think I need to try a few of them now! :)

    ReplyDelete
  16. I love Frozen, too!!! I have read Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow by Jessica Day George. You should read it. It's my favorite JDG book. I really need to read The Two Princesses of Bamarre. I've been meaning to read it for years and years and years.

    ReplyDelete
  17. I'm in love with this list! Especially since I've read all of them but 2 (new record!) and am responsible for getting you to read at least one! Yes! <3

    ReplyDelete
  18. I love that you chose FROZEN! And I think you hit it perfectly with Shannon Hale's PRINCESS ACADEMY. Great list!

    ReplyDelete
  19. I love this list and it just made my day.

    ReplyDelete
  20. Ooh I loved Throne of Glass and Seraphina - and Frozen! Awesome pairing :-)

    ReplyDelete
  21. I love these comparisons and so agree! I never realized how perfect Shadow and Bone compares to Frozen, but you are so right :D

    ReplyDelete
  22. This list is made of awesome :) I LOVE frozen and most of the books you mention there. Shadow & bone, Sisters Red, Poison, Cruel beauty, Throne of glass: YES TO ALL.

    ReplyDelete
  23. This is so cute! And it all comes together so well. I definitely can see the parallels between Seraphina and Shadow and Bone with Frozen. Also, lots of love for The Two Princesses of Bamarre! Though that's a much, much sadder story than Frozen has.

    ReplyDelete
  24. This reminds me how I still haven't seen Frozen yet. *pout*
    I'm hold number 1,436 for it at the library.

    ReplyDelete

Note: comments on posts older than 90 days are automatically moderated, so they won't show up here immediately. Thanks for commenting! :)